Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Monday, December 8, 2014

Monday, November 24, 2014

Saturday, November 8, 2014

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Monday, October 13, 2014

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Sunday, August 24, 2014

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Sunday, May 4, 2014

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Friday, April 11, 2014

The Leg













Me and Walter walk along the snowy path. There is a howling wind that chills me. I keep moving, knowing that I will warm up soon. The sun is shining through the trees making blue shadows on the crispy ground. I squint up at the sun and back down at the ground and those shadows once formed from darkness are now filled with light. A snapping twig, I look behind me. I can't see Walter anymore, he is far up ahead. Then I catch a glimpse of him. He is furiously sniffing the ground. His nose deep in the scent of a world that I am oblivious to. As I round the bend I notice a tree on the side of the trail that has fallen. It is bathed in sunlight and I have the sudden urge to sit on it and be still. I cautiously venture off the beaten path. The warm weather has made the snow weak and any wrong move will send my leg plummeting into its depths. I step onto the thick trunk, gently lowering myself down to sit. I stretch my legs out along it and slowly lean back to lay my head down. My eyes fall from the sky down to a tree standing in front of me. On it, a furry leg. A deers leg casually hung over a branch. Bent at the knee. Its hoof pointed towards the ground, gnawed bone cut off at the thigh as white as the snow beneath it. What? I yell, sitting up, as Walter comes crashing towards me. 

Monday, April 7, 2014